Changes

Jump to navigation Jump to search
14 bytes added ,  21:52, 2 November 2009
== Geographic application ==
#*Outside Israel however, the distinction between Kitniyot and non Kitniyot or Chametz can be almost academic. Instead of relying on reading ingredients on labels, Orthodox Jews require their manufactured and processed food to be certified or checked (year round) to see that it qualifies with Halacha in both the ingredients and tools used to process and manufacture the food. For Passover, Jews require certification of this in addition to certification that foods neither contain chametz nor were prepared with utensils that contain chametz. In most countries outside Israel (including the US) the major agencies which certify food as kosher, or kosher for Passover, do not have a special category for food which is "only kitniyot" and not chametz. Therefore, it is nearly impossible for the typical consumer to tell conclusively if an item is kitniyot or would be considered chametz because of some hidden ingredients or manufacturing process. Thus, those who would eat kitniyot—the sick, sephardim, or others who could take advantage of the special category known as kitniyot—are largely out of luck and must treat any processed items without full certification as possibly full fledged chametz#== Derivatives of kitniyot== #*There is one product called "quinoa" (pronounced "kin-O-ah," or keen-WA) that is the subject of much discussion. Although quinoa resembles a grain, it is technically in the "goose foot" family, which includes sugar beets and beet root. As such, some rabbis (for example, Rabbi Heinemann of Star-K) permit its use even for Ashkenazim on Passover, while other rabbis do not.; == See further == :*[http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/Kitniyot/]: *[http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kitniyot]
==Notes==
<references/>

Navigation menu